Conversation between ‘Past’ and ‘Present’

3 Years Back

One find day, I was going for a art workshop in a metro. While waiting for my station to come, I was lost in my thought, about my dreams.

Suddenly a woman sat next to me. I couldn’t see her face as she was wearing goggles and mask, but she was in her early 30s, slim, married wearing Indian suit. In her fingers, she was wearing gold ring. She was proudly carrying sindoor and mangalsutra.

After noticing her I got lost in my phone, scrolling facebook. Suddenly she interrupted , “Hey Vandana”.

How does she know my name?

I looked at her. She removed her goggles and mask. Her face looked familiar. Her eyes, her lips, her cheeks. I have seen her somewhere. I was staring at her. “Ohh shit, she looks just like me, she is my duplicate”.

“How do you know my name”, I asked her.

“I know everything about you”, she replied, “About your past, your career, your personal life, your breakup. Everything.”

“You are lying. I don’t know you, your face resembles mine that doesn’t mean that you know me completely. I don’t trust you.”

“But I know every small detail about you. You can ask me anything.”

“Ok, tell me 1 thing which only I know no one else knows”

She thought for few second. I was looking at her nervously and expecting that she is just messing with me. Then she came with an answer that shocked me.

“Does anyone knows about your history of hatrick or how deeply hurt you are right now from inside because of your breakup or that you don’t have any friend right now to share your problems?”

I was numb listening her answer. Tears came out my eyes. “How does she know my secrets? How could she see me from inside?

“But… How… do… you… know… all… this……………..? I asked her hesitantly.

“Because I am your future. I am You only. I have crossed your phase 3 years years back. So I know what you are exactly going through.”

“You are my future? How is it possible? How can you travel in time? How are we meeting?” I enquired in surprise.

“You don’t bother about how I came here. I just came here to answer your questions. I know you have a lot of questions running in your mind all the time which doesn’t let you rest. I will try to answer them. You can ask me whatever you want.”

Listening to her, I kept silent to think. Then 1st question came to my mind, which 24X7 was running in my head. I asked her sobbingly with eyes full of tears.

“Why did it happen with me?” and I started crying.

She looked at me peacefully and waited for me to get normal then she replied,

“I know your situation. It is very painful. But you know, the pain which you are going through right now is teaching you so many thing for giving you the best life.

You this relationship failed to give you next best relationship. Everything that is happening with you is making you strong for the life which you want and deserve.

“I want to get married but I don’t want to change myself. People say that girls change after marriage.”

“What change you are talking about tell me specifically”

“Ok. I will start one by one.”

“See I am young right now. I know i can’t stop my age. But with age girls lose their beauty and people don’t give attention to older woman”

“See beauty lies in how you see yourself. After your struggle when you will increase your self love, you will look more beautiful.

Other than this, when you talk about attention, whos attention you are talking about?”

“I am talking about guys, other woman, young girls who admires me.”

“hmm.. you know what. If I tell you that what if you won’t feel the need for admiration from other’s then?”

“If others are not admiring then how will I feel worthy?”

“I will tell you how. One is your self love and other is love from your partner. If both are high, you won’t even if whole world is criticing you. Your focus will be you and your husband only. This will be your world.

So you change for your partner because that becomes happiness for you and you don’t have to make an effort for it. It happens automatically.”

“I understand you are married. you love your husband but what is the need of wearing sindoor, mangalsutra, gold jewelary? Why do you want to tell the world that you are married”

Here also 2 things:

  1. you are again focusing on world, you want attention from world, whose answer I gave you already.
  2. Sindoor, magalsutra, jewelary, these are part of hindu culture and they are not just sign of married woman, they have significance which make life happy and peaceful. So when you are happily married and satisfied, you priority won’t be what other see but having happy and healthy life with your partner.
  3. Wearing gold jewelry, I know you have no idea about it and don’t want to wear it also. But when you are married, you represent a family. Society will judge status of your family, on basis of your behaviour and look. So these jewelry represent that you come from good family. Also you will understand the importance of gold also later.

“But right now you said, people opinion doesn’t matter, now I have to wear gold for them?”

“There is a boundary, which you will decide where people opinion doesn’t matter. When you love other, you will understand that time, opinion on you won’t matter but for your family or loved ones it would matter. Then you will do things happily which you don’t like also. That is a power of love.”

“Ohk, so as you are my future, I know your choices. You always select the best for yourself, but right now I don’t think this suit is of your choice or this jewelry is of your choice. So after marriage does choices also changes?

“That is good observation. You know I don’t like average things. But this suit, necklace, anklet that I am wearing are average because there are choice of my mother In Law (MIL). Here again priority changed. Here love of her is more important than my choice. That doesn’t mean I have lost my self in love of other. That doesn’t mean I wear such average things only now. I do keep a balance between me and my family. Your families love is also important for your happiness. Also in your initial wedding period, you are building foundation of your bond. So when you give respect of their choices in beginning, you can have your freedom and their love both in later. That is the beauty of love.

“I like being perfect. My hair, my dress fitting, my bag. I can’t compromise in anything. If I do this, I don’t think I will be happy. So how do you look happy, despite this?”

“As I told you before now priority is not what others see me. Yes being perfect is still important for me. But sometimes, because of some other responsibilities or lack of time, you compromise on some stuff of your self, and you can still be happy because your priority if happiness not looks. Whatever will give you happiness, you will do that. ”

She was making sense but i was not able to relate with her right now. I said to her, ” You might be right, what should i do right now and will this pain be worthy”?

“Absolutely, dear. Evey tear of your would be paid multiple times”. I don’t want to ruin the surprises of the future but trust on god. You are on a right path. You are doing absolutely right whatever you are doing. You have your mentor with you who is guiding you. So continue your journey, you will be getting signs when you have to take the next step. Now my station has come, my husband is waiting for me. I have to leave”. She left and started moving in the crowd.

Her husband, i got intrigued, who is see. I also got up to follow her silently but she just disappeared so suddenly. I looked everywhere for her outside the station as well but no sign of her i found.

I wiped my tears and said silently to myself, “thankyou god, I trust you” and left for my ar

Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started